The Cricket Cranes have a busy month ahead after a 14-man squad was named for the inaugural Continent Cup T20 set for Nairobi from June 7 to 21.

The event has attracted six teams including hosts Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, and Botswana.

Brian Masaba will captain the squad and he will be joined by several stars who are returning to the setup and some fresh faces.

Dinesh Nakrani and Bilal Hassun will be making a comeback on the squad and they will be in the company of the young Cyrus Kakuru and Pascal Murugi.

Kakuru is preparing for the U-19 qualifiers but an opportunity on the squad will go a long way in boosting his confidence.

Having Riazat Shah who missed some national team engagements following a broken finger is welcome news considering he helped Uganda come back from the jaws of defeat in the Africa Cup Championship that took place in South Africa last year. They defeated Tanzania at the death thanks to his masterful batting at the end.

Uganda will be without fast bowler Juma Miyaji who is out injured and exciting batsman Ronald Lutaaya will be missed with University exams keeping him away.

;Their absence has given Siraje Nsubuga and Robinson Obuya a chance to have a proper run in the team. Since this is an ICC-sanctioned event, there are T20 ranking points up for grabs. Uganda has it all to defend as the highest-ranked side in the competition at 24 in the world.

Kenya is ranked 28 in the world, Tanzania 30, Botswana 49, and Rwanda are the lowest-ranked team at 67.

The Team: Roger Mukasa, Simon Ssesazi, Robinson Obuya, Riazat Ali Shah, Dinesh Nakrani, Frank Nsubuga, Brian Masaba (Captain), Alpesh Ramjani, Kenneth Waiswa, Siraje Nsubuga, Kakuru Cyrus, Henry Ssenyondo, Bilal Hassun, Pascal Murungi.


Provided by SyndiGate Media Inc. (Syndigate.info).

2023-06-01T06:10:55Z dg43tfdfdgfd